Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual Event
  • This event has passed.

Literary Luminaries Unite to Help DEMS Win Big!

October 21 2020 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm EDT

Virtual Event

IMPORTANT: YOU MUST RSVP IF YOU PLAN TO ATTEND THIS EVENT!

RSVP HERE: https://www.mobilize.us/ft6/event/351965/

Please join our amazing literary luminaries as they unite to help Democrats cross the finish line by returning their mail-in ballots!

You can make a difference in this election and have fun while interacting with these amazing writers talking about politics, texting, life, etc.

We will quickly train you at text-banking at the beginning of the event and set you loose! Lots of hand-holding for the tech newbies among us.

Donation-based tickets are available HERE — snag yours today!

Our amazing writers include:

Soraya Chemaly is currently Executive Director of The Representation Project and the award-winning author of Rage Becomes Her: The Power of Women’s Anger.

Mira Jacob is a novelist, memoirist, illustrator, and cultural critic, and her graphic memoir Good Talk: A Memoir in Conversations was shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award.

R.O. Kwon is a writer whose nationally bestselling novel, The Incendiaries, was named a best book of the year by over forty publications.

Lisa Lucas is the outgoing Executive Director of the National Book Foundation and the incoming Senior Vice President & Publisher of Pantheon and Schocken Books at Penguin Random House.

Viet Thanh Nguyen is the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sympathizerand its forthcoming sequel, The Committed.

Rebecca Skloot is a science writer and author of the #1 New York Times Bestseller, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, which was made into an Emmy Nominated HBO film starring Oprah Winfrey.

Aminatou Sow is an interviewer, author of the NYT bestseller Big Friendship, and a co-host of the popular podcast, Call Your Girlfriend.

Ayelet Waldman is the executive producer and writer of Unbelievable on Netflix and author of A Really Good Day.

NOTE: You must go through the link above to get your ticket! Ticket holders will get emailed the Zoom link the day before the event. Update to the latest version of Zoom.

All times listed are Pacific, but just to be abundantly clear, the event will be taking place October 21 from 3-5pm PT/4-6pm MT/5-7pm CT/6-8pm ET.

Details

Date:
October 21 2020
Time:
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm EDT
Event Categories:
, , ,
Website:
https://www.mobilize.us/ft6/event/351965/

Venue

Los Angeles 90039
Los Angeles, CA 90039 United States + Google Map